Item added to your cart.

Sweet Justice
Tkay Maidza
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 3, 2023
  • Black LP, Signed Print + Butterfly Sticker Sheet:

    Pre-order $25.99
    • Sweet Justice Vinyl, 1×LP

    • Sweet Justice MP3

    • + Sticker
    • + Print

    Available: November 3, 2023

  • Download

    Pre-order $9.99
    Select format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Available: November 3, 2023

The first 150 orders on the 4AD store will include an exclusive art print hand signed by Tkay, an MP3 download of Sweet Justice and a butterfly sticker sheet.

Tkay Maidza, the first female rapper signed to 4AD, announces details of her highly anticipated new album, Sweet Justice. The follow-up to her 2016 self-titled debut will be released on 3 November and includes the recent Flume-produced earth-shuddering single ‘Silent Assassin’. Today, Tkay shares a blistering new track, ‘Ring-A-Ling’ and official video directed by Jocelyn Anquetil.

“I’m never choosing compliance,” a defiant Maidza utters ‘Ring-A-Ling’; a warning from the Zimbabwean-born, Australian-raised, Los Angeles-based rapper, singer and producer and a mantra for Sweet Justice. Produced by Two Fresh, Tkay says of ‘Ring-A-Ling’, “I wanted to make an empowering song that tells others that my biggest focus are my goals.”

The result of a dark night of the soul—and ensuing epiphany—that led to a series of professional and personal reckonings, Sweet Justice isn’t a revenge album, but it does stem from a profound sense of karma. In a traditional sense, it’s a breakup record: about Tkay splitting off from her self-doubt and warped sense of self; the toxic figures that populated the last chapter of her life; and the idea that she should stick to any one lane.

After severing ties with old friends, she found some new ones on the same creative wavelength: Canadian producers Stint and Kaytranada, and fellow Australian Flume, all of whom contribute production. Sweet Justice is an album that embodies the beautiful contradictions of Tkay’s art: it’s a coming-of-age record by someone who’s mastered the game; an album about karmic justice and accountability that’s bright, breezy and incredibly fun. In Tkay’s mind, it’s a rebirth album, a record about harnessing the feminine power that was innate in her the whole time.

Tkay Maidza says, “Sweet Justice was a way for me to channel my emotions from what I’ve experienced in the last two years. It’s a diary of things and thoughts I’ve kept to myself. Making the record was a healing experience and I’m grateful to have worked with producers who have inspired me throughout my career.” Sweet Justice follows the 3-year-long, 24 song-strong genre-bending Last Year Was Weird trilogy exploring Maidza’s own African-Australian experience. The project earned her a 2021 ARIA Awards win for Best Soul/R&B Release and an NME Award for Best Solo Act From Australia in 2022. Following on from tours with Billie Eilish and Dua Lipa, Tkay is currently in the southern hemisphere for arena shows with Lizzo with her own headline shows to be announced soon.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Love and Other Drugs Tkay Maidza 3:01
  2. 2 WUACV Tkay Maidza 2:17
  3. 3 Out of Luck Tkay Maidza feat. Lolo Zouaï & Amber Mark 3:50
  4. 4 What Ya Know Tkay Maidza 3:22
  5. 5 Won One Tkay Maidza 2:41
  6. 6 Love Again Tkay Maidza 3:29
  7. 7 WASP Tkay Maidza 3:02
  8. 8 Ghost! Tkay Maidza 3:54
  9. 9 Ring-a-Ling Tkay Maidza 2:58
  10. 10 Free Throws Tkay Maidza 2:17
  11. 11 Silent Assassin Tkay Maidza & Flume 2:07
  12. 12 Our Way Tkay Maidza 3:57
  13. 13 Gone to the West Tkay Maidza feat. Duckwrth 3:17
  14. 14 Walking On Air Tkay Maidza 3:47

Tkay Maidza

Tkay Maidza

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences