Item added to your cart.

First Two Pages of Frankenstein
Display Artist
The National
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 28, 2023

Limited Edition White Vinyl LP exclusive to the artist and label webstores while stocks last.

The National announce the release of their ninth studio album, First Two Pages of Frankenstein, due April 28 2023 via 4AD. Anchored by evocative melodies and an enthralling lyrical narrative, First Two Pages of Frankenstein signals a new chapter in the band’s beloved discography. The 11-song album was produced by The National at Long Pond Studios in upstate New York and features guest appearances by Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers, and Sufjan Stevens.

After two back-to-back albums and several busy years of touring, First Two Pages of Frankenstein was initially stalled while lead singer Matt Berninger navigated, “a very dark spot where I couldn’t come up with lyrics or melodies at all… Even though we’d always been anxious whenever we were working on a record, this was the first time it ever felt like maybe things really had come to an end.” Instead, The National “managed to come back together and approach everything from a different angle, and because of that we arrived at what feels like a new era for the band,” according to guitarist/pianist Bryce Dessner, whose bandmates also include his brother Aaron (guitar/piano/bass) as well as brothers Scott Devendorf (bass, guitar) and Bryan Devendorf (drums).

The band has also shared the first single off the album, the deceptively upbeat “Tropic Morning News”. Partly recorded live in Hamburg, the song merges its mercurial textures and kinetic rhythms with a lush, yet subtle grandeur achieved through Bryce Dessner’s work with the London Contemporary Orchestra. “When Matt came in with that song in the depths of his depression, it felt like a turning point for us,” says Aaron Dessner. “It’s almost Dylan-esque in its lyrics and it’s so much fun to play; everything suddenly felt like it was coming alive again.”

Co-written with Berninger’s wife Carin Besser, “Tropic Morning News” takes its title from a phrase Besser invented to describe the regrettably routine practice of doom-scrolling. “The idea of referring to the darkness of the news in such a light way unlocked something in me,” says Berninger. “It became a song about having a hard time expressing yourself, and trying to connect with someone when the noise of the world is drowning out any potential for conversation.”

First Two Pages of Frankenstein channels the group’s revitalized chemistry into a body of work that beautifully balances elegant musicality with The National’s more idiosyncratic impulses. Tracks such as “Grease in Your Hair” and “Ice Machines” were road-tested in 2022 before they were recorded, allowing the band to hone the material in real time (another song, “Weird Goodbyes” featuring Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, was released as a standalone track last August). “To me the power of this record has to do with the intentionality and structure of the music meeting with a lot of accidental magic,” says Aaron Dessner.

The band has also today announced 2023 tour dates including a show at NYC’s Madison Square Garden with very special guest Patti Smith and her band. Other shows feature opening sets from Soccer Mommy, The Beths, and Bartees Strange. Tickets go on sale this Friday, January 27th at 10:00AM Eastern Time. Ticket info can be found at

Formed in New York in 1999, The National’s last four albums have all been in the Top 5 in the UK charts, with 2017’s Grammy award-winning (for Best Alternative Album) Sleep Well Beast hitting Number 1. In the US, The National have scored five top 10 albums on The Billboard 200.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Once Upon A Poolside (feat. Sufjan Stevens) 3:36 Buy

    Once Upon A Poolside (feat. Sufjan Stevens)

  2. 2 Eucalyptus 4:24 Buy


  3. 3 New Order T-Shirt 4:56 Buy

    New Order T-Shirt

  4. 4 This Isn’t Helping (feat. Phoebe Bridgers) 4:04 Buy

    This Isn’t Helping (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)

  5. 5 Tropic Morning News 5:09 Buy

    Tropic Morning News

  6. 6 Alien 4:07 Buy


  7. 7 The Alcott (feat. Taylor Swift) 4:27 Buy

    The Alcott (feat. Taylor Swift)

  8. 8 Grease In Your Hair 3:57 Buy

    Grease In Your Hair

  9. 9 Ice Machines 4:16 Buy

    Ice Machines

  10. 10 Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers) 4:24 Buy

    Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)

  11. 11 Send For Me 4:14 Buy

    Send For Me

The National

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences