Item added to your cart.

The Far Field
Future Islands
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 7, 2017

Across "The Far Field"’s twelve chest-pounding love songs and odes to the road, Future Islands brilliantly express the band’s central themes they’ve been exploring for the last decade: that there is power in emotional vulnerability, that one can find a way to laugh and cry in the same breath – and be stronger for it.

The band began writing new material in January 2016 on the coast of North Carolina, and continued throughout the year in Baltimore before road-testing these songs at a series of secret shows under fake names. Later that year, they travelled to Los Angeles to record with Grammy Award-winning producer John Congleton at the legendary Sunset Sound, where everyone from The Beach Boys to Prince have laid down masterpieces. With string and horn arrangements by Patrick McMinn, "The Far Field" is the first Future Islands record to feature live drums by Michael Lowry, who joined the band prior to their sensational performance of ‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’ on David Letterman’s late night TV show. Blondie’s Debbie Harry also makes a guest appearance, in a duet with Herring on penultimate track ‘Shadows’.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Aladdin Future Islands 4:13 Buy


  2. 2 Time On Her Side Future Islands 3:38 Buy

    Time On Her Side

  3. 3 Ran Future Islands 3:25 Buy


  4. 4 Beauty of the Road Future Islands 4:09 Buy

    Beauty of the Road

  5. 5 Cave Future Islands 3:51 Buy


  6. 6 Through the Roses Future Islands 3:14 Buy

    Through the Roses

  7. 7 North Star Future Islands 3:35 Buy

    North Star

  8. 8 Ancient Water Future Islands 3:55 Buy

    Ancient Water

  9. 9 Candles Future Islands 3:56 Buy


  10. 10 Day Glow Fire Future Islands 3:49 Buy

    Day Glow Fire

  11. 11 Shadows Future Islands feat. Debbie Harry 4:05 Buy


  12. 12 Black Rose Future Islands 3:24 Buy

    Black Rose

Future Islands

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences